Sydney West Metro

Sydney, New South Wales

In addition to Sydney Metro Stage 1 Cox Richardson as part of the PBACH design consortium were commissioned by the SydneyMetro Authority to lead the architectural input for the Reference for Stage1 comprising of 12 additional stations for the proposed 23 km metro line between Westmead in Sydney’s outer west and the existing Central Station in CBD. The Stations were located at Broadway/Sydney University, Camperdown, Leichhardt, Canada Bay, Five Dock, Burwood, Strathfield, Sydney Olympic Park, Silverwater, Rosehill, Parramatta and Westmead.

The scope included station design proposals that informed the wider metro product aspirations and the complex technical requirements of underground metro infrastructure.

Two stations were proposed with major interchange facilities with existing City Rail stations Parramatta and Strathfield. The purpose of the Reference Design study was to confirm the feasibility of the architectural vision and passenger experience, property acquisition, station planning and constructability implications.

The Reference Design proposed concepts for station entry and planning, vertical circulation and platform arrangements coordinated with input from the Urban Design and Transport Planning technical advisors and services; and structural and tunnel engineers within PBACH.

In addition, the deliverables included input into the Environmental Assessment Report. Cox was also commissioned to prepare benchmark architectural concepts for each station that responded specifically to the branding and line identity of the Metro and to the Sydney context.

  • Technical Information
  • Cox Team
In association with
Parsons Brinckerhoff, Arup, Hassell
Sydney Metro Authority, NSW Government
Project Status
Feasibility Study, 2009
Philip Graus
Paul Sproule
Bill Luders
Ian Stanger